Thread
Print

Camera choosing

Camera choosing

I'm a beginner for photography.
I'm finding a DSLR for bird photography.
I have no experience in camera choosing.
Suggestions?
And I hope to have lenses long enough to view birds in the Boardwalk(so far away!)
P.S. What's the most light-weight DSLR?
I love wild avifauna.

Depending on your budget you won't go wrong choosing either Canon or Nikon DSLRs.
A good entry lens to bird photography is 400 mm.
My suggestion would be a combo of ...
1. Canon EOS-7D, EF400/5.6L  or
2. Nikon D300s, AF-S 300/4D ED + TC14E II
Both rig would be very portable.

Getting the DSLR camera and lens is one thing. Don't forget there is another major undertaking in digital photography which is Post-processing of your image files!
A learning curve that you need to invest time in it.
KK Hui FRPS
Personal Website

And may I suggest a tripod! You can certainly hand hold these lighter lenses but using a tripod is a good habit to get into.

Agree with the above C hings ~

For beginners, 400mm is fair enough, RAW should be used and the photo could be chopped.
Actually, you would find that even though you have 800mm lens, it is still not long enough (the birds are as small as a seed in your image)
Thus, more importantly, you can take nice photos if you have a good position and a good understanding on their lives.

I also use 7D + 400mm f/5.6.  I am satisfied with this combination.  But my techniques in birding are required to improve.  

456 is not so general for other topics as the closer focus length is 3.5m and no image stabilizer.  If you would like to use the len for other purposes, it would be better and flexible to have 300mm f/4 + extender.  Bear in mind, the quality would be decreased by using 300mm f/4 + extender, especially the photo are chopped.

May I ask a question about the Canon 400mm f5.6, which I am also interested in ?

A common criticism about this lens is its lack of Image Stabilization.