66 12
Thread
Print

Digiscoping advice please

Digiscoping advice please

Hi All

I am not a photographer - I use a digital SLR mostly for work and occasionally a few bird photos.

However, I will shortly be doing a trip where space will be very limited but where there might be the odd once in a lifetime photo-opportunity - Bolivia.

Can anyone suggest a small camera that would go well with my Swarovski scope? Cost not too critical but ease of operation is!

Thanks very much.

Mike Leven

Mike,

I would like to suggest a Nikon 8400, I have been using this model for a little over 6 months with some degree of success, but unfortunately this camera has been discontinued for over a year and would be very difficult to find.

Neil, has a better knowledge on the latest camera models that work with the Swarovski scope.

One thing to bear in mind is that failure rate (out of focus shots etc ) is fairly high but the magnification is a lot higher than with a regular DSLR.

Bob Thompson

Mike , there are many cameras out there these days that will enable you to take reasonable photos through a scope. The ability to take an adapter is a limiting factor for most of them though.  If you have an angled scope it is a simple matter to insert a tube into your rubber eyepiece cap just long enough to keep the camera lens from touching the eyepiece and then you can hand hold and fire away .  The best camera for doing this is the Fuji F30 which has low noise up to iso 800 so you can get high shutter speeds to reduce vibration. Bob and I are using the Nikon CP8400 which is the best digiscoping camera ever in my opinion and can still be found in HK in Times Square at CKC but is expensive (near Broadway on 8/9 floor ).  It will take an adapter and fit on the Swarovski DCA adapter. Electronic Viewfinder , wide angle lens (24mm) and works great with the 30x eyepiece. The next best would be the Olympus 7070wz but old model now. The Nikon P series work ok, Sony W series, Olympus 350/330.