Thread
Print

Digiscoping advice please

Mike,

I would like to suggest a Nikon 8400, I have been using this model for a little over 6 months with some degree of success, but unfortunately this camera has been discontinued for over a year and would be very difficult to find.

Neil, has a better knowledge on the latest camera models that work with the Swarovski scope.

One thing to bear in mind is that failure rate (out of focus shots etc ) is fairly high but the magnification is a lot higher than with a regular DSLR.

Bob Thompson

I would suggest that you watch the lens as you move the zoom control on the camera, when you have worked out the zoom position where the lens extends the most from the camera. Measure the distance from the camera body to the end of the zoom at this zoom position and add a mm or so.

The idea is that the tube is long enough so that you can fully zoom the lens without it hitting the scope eyepiece.

Depending on the camera model and zoom, you may get vignetting (black corners) at some zoom settings

Bob

PS: Neil posted a better explanation while I was still typing mine

Neil, Is away on holiday's until the 1st week of Jan, I am sure he will answer your query then

Bob

Mike,

You need a Nikon adaptor to fit onto the Swarvoski DCA (Digital Camera Adaptor), do you just have the regular 20-60x eyepiece ? I will post the part numbers when I return home from work.

Bob

Mike,

You need a Nikon UR-E14 Adaptor Ring ( it is a short tube).

1. You unscrew a ring, that is around the lens, on the camera body
2. Screw this tube onto the camera body.

I bought the adaptor tube at Coxell. Hotline number 27290199. (approx HK$200)

You will then need a Swarovski Digital Camera Adaptor (DCA), as this is not usually in stock at photostores I sugget contacting Eric Hau, Swarovski Sales Manager, direct line 2969 6165. (under HK$1500)